Author Topic: Ask hiro thread  (Read 9808 times)

Hibakusha

Re: Ask hiro thread
« Reply #135 on: June 29, 2006, 03:35:48 AM »
what was the oral surgery?

as someone with a lotta teeth probems I'm interested.

Lower left molar in front of where the wisdom tooth was 25 years ago. The  US army doctors pulled the wisdom tooth out because it was growing sideways (only because it was growing sideways).
After extracting the wisdom tooth, they put a filling in the tooth I had pulled yesterday (it cracked so they drilled into it to hold a filling) and they put in my record that I am a bleeder - a dentist worse nightmare.
The problem now is, the calcium build up around the jawbone and molar. He had to split the tooth into three pieces to get it out, and grind the rest of the built up shards well down below the gum line. I had gone to sleep in his reclining surgical chair and woke up in my own recliner at home. So the whole thing was painless, the only thing I ever felt was the IV in my hand (just cause they told me they were doing it). Upon awakening, I discovered two stitches in my gums; one in front and one behind were the tooth was.
Just now, I woke up to discover a third stitch down in the socket. According to my X, they did not give me any blood and it took over an hour to do the whole thing. She said he came out of the room twice sweating profusely.
The other day I dropped off my medical records to them, and they gave me darvocet until the surgery. When I woke up, I found a bottle of cipro and vicodin on the kitchen counter. Between the darvocet and the vicodin, I had a pretty good little party by myself. Although, I am still checking my post that I made earlier - scary thought.
For now I am sticking to the darvocet, the vicodin feels to medicine kinda whatever it is feeling.
Good news is, the gauze that I woke up with, was hardly bloody at all, and still no bleeding.