Educational

Author Topic: Gross Anatomy at its grossest  (Read 408 times)

Offline The Member Formerly Known As Sophist

• Too Eliter for the Aspie Elite
  • Elder
  • Postwhore
  • I am what I am and that's all what I am.
    • Gestalt: An Autism Forum
Gross Anatomy at its grossest
« on: December 23, 2009, 06:19:04 PM »
[TMI for the super-squeamish. Don't proceed.]

I did something on Monday I could never have predicted I'd ever be doing in my life...

Ok, as a little background: right now I'm in my first semester of a PhD program in Anatomy Science/Neurobiology (I know, it's a mouthful). In the first semester of the program, the PhD students traditionally take Neuroanatomy. We, however, don't have our own course, we take Neuro with the medical school. So it's a small handful of graduate students thrown in with about 100+ 1st year med students. The lab portion of our course takes place in the Gross Anatomy lab. For anyone not familiar with the idea, it's where med students dissect the entirety of a (preserved) corpse over the course of a semester. Neuroanatomy takes place in the same lab, dissecting the central nervous system (brain and spinal cord). At the end of the semester, once the corpse has been flayed, de-gutted, and severed in multiple symmetric ways, the med students move on to the next semester and somebody has to stay and clean up/remove all the bodies.

Guess who got suckered into "Body Moving Day" as my uni calls it.

That's right.

Me.  ::)

I wasn't exactly certain what all Body Moving Day entailed, although I figured we'd be moving the remains of the corpses. But now that I've done it, I have to say that "moving" is a horribly inaccurate adjective to use to describe it.